Does higher price mean better quality for makeup removers?

Thank you for joining me on my new adventure in the world of blogging! I am a beauty product junkie and over the past several years of experimentation, I have realized something important that I would like to share with all of you. The more expensive a product is doesn’t necessarily mean that it’s better quality than the cheaper ones.

As much as I love makeup, my favorite part of the day is before bed when I get to remove it all! Not taking your makeup off before bed can be harmful for your skin. It can cause acne, dry skin, and can clog your pores from the chemicals in your makeup. If you have sensitive skin (like me), leaving your makeup on can lead to irritation and infections, as well as speeding up the process of your skin aging. As a result, I want to start my first blog by comparing two makeup removers that I have tried in the past.

A couple months ago, I found myself getting into the habit of buying beauty products based on their price. I was under the impression that the higher the price, the better the quality. Boy was I wrong!

fullsizerender-3

After searching on Sephora.com for the “best” makeup remover, I had stumbled upon Bi-Facil Double Action Eye Makeup Remover. This product is $15.00 and got 4 and a half stars. Naturally I thought, “oh yeah, this has got to be great!” First off, I didn’t read the fluid ounces and got this tiny little bottle in the mail (1.7 FL. OZ.). I was a little bummed, but I didn’t let that stop my excitement. Here are my thoughts about this makeup remover. The liquid is a pretty smell, without being too strong. It looks and feels a little too oily for my liking. The remover left an oily residue on my face all night, which is a plus if you have dry skin! The next morning, I woke up with my skin feeling bright and hydrated.  When I applied it to my face, it took me a good amount of cotton balls to remove it all. And since the bottle was so small; I basically used half the bottle the first night. This is not my favorite makeup remover, but it does work! I would just recommend buying a bigger bottle than I had.

simple-water-makeup-remover

I expressed my feelings about the Lancôme makeup remover to my step mother, Nancy, and she had recommended to me the Simple Kind to Skin Cleansing Water, Micellar. It removes makeup, cleanses and hydrates your skin. It is also great for sensitive skin. This product is gold!! Not only is it way cheaper, but you can get it at any drug store.  The odorless, clear liquid is light and not oily at all. It literally feels like applying water to your face. It absorbs easily with a cotton ball, so you don’t have to use too much. Three cotton balls do the trick for me; two for my stubborn mascara and the third for the rest of my face. It is so easy to remove makeup with this product; it actually makes me excited to take off my makeup! The best part is, it’s $7.99 AND it’s 6.7 FL. OZ. That’s almost half the price and 10x the size of the Lancôme’s makeup remover!

If you try either of these products, leave a comment below with your thoughts!

Thanks for reading♥

4 thoughts on “Does higher price mean better quality for makeup removers?

  1. I am using Loreal makeup remover and very happy about it. I don’t feel the big difference between YSL makeup remover and Loreal:) My personal opinion is that you could find great products in all price categories.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

